A Friend In Need

20151216_190527
A Friend

When is a friend not a friend?  Some will say it’s when they don’t need you.  I don’t agree with that.

A friend is not a friend when they ignore your need.  How can anyone be a friend and know you have a need which they can supply, and foster a grudge against helping you?  That is not a friend.

As the saying goes, and I quote:  “A friend in need is a friend indeed.”

This saying or proverb did not originate in the Caribbean, but I grew up hearing it here in Barbados.  On the occasions it was used it seemed a lament.   It was if the speaker was let down by some person that had been considered a friend.  That person couldn’t wait to get away and put distance between them as soon as they became aware of the need or difficulty!

And by the way, have you ever noticed that an enemy would sometimes be quicker to do the thing you need?  Even to just offer a shoulder to cry on and a tissue to blow your nose?  I wonder why is that? 🙂

The origin of the quote has been attributed to Quintus Ennius who wrote in 3 BC:  “Amicus certus in re incerta cernitur”.  A sure friend is known when in difficulty.

Its meaning is clear:  A friend who helps you when you really need help, is a true friend.

I am thankful that this little island has given me a “friend in need” many times over, bringing me sunshine where and when I need it.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to Renegade Expressions for nominating me for this challenge. And challenge it is!

The Rules for the challenge are:

  • Three nominees each day (no repetition).
  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Inform the nominees.
  • Three quotes for three days.

This is my first day, and my nominees are:

The Evolutionary Mind

MakeItUltra*

518songofmypeople

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Friend In Need

  1. The one I hear more often, uttered tongue in cheek, I hope, is “A friend in need is a pain in the ass!” I’ve been fortunate to be the beneficiary of the original quote more times in my life than I can count! 😉 xoM

    Like

Leave a Reply

